Groups randomly changing layers?

Hello Fellow Sketchup Users,

I am having a technical issue I hope you guys can help me with. I have dug and dug through pages of google searches trying to figure this one out but I’m stuck and going bat$h!t crazy.

I am fairly new to Sketchup. Still a newbie. So I can not supply extremely “technical” descriptions or understand extremely “technical” answers such Ruby code lines and what not. But I’ll give you the basics of what’s troubling me.

I have groups, whole and nested portions, randomly changing layers.

I have had most of everything in my model where I wanted it in layers. Then I would notice that some group was suddenly on another layer. I put that layer back where I wanted it using the “put on layer” extension. That happened a few times without further issues. But the problem has increased in frequency and now when I put something back where it should be, it changes another group randomly. Suddenly groups that have no connection or have never been linked to groups on other layers will jump to that layer. And it’s extremely random. It has become a cascading effect. Now I can’t fix one group with out affecting 3 others.

This is driving me nuts. PLEASE HELP ME.

A few things that might be relevant:

• SketchUp V-15.3.329
  • Mac Book Pro, 2.6 GHz Intel Core i5, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3-RAM, Intel Iris 1536 MB-Graphics Card, OSX 10.10.2
  • Started this model before I had understanding of group/component size relationship so model comes in at a hefty 58MB
  • NOT using any scenes.
  • I AM using “Put on Layer” and “Layers Panel” extensions.

I hope someone out there can help me before I throw my computer out the window. I’m really frustrated and I can’t afford to buy another computer right now :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I know ‘Layer Panels’ is quite buggy on a mac…

If you read through it’s forum thread at SCF, you’ll see it crashes for a lot of mac uses…

Is ‘Put on Layers’ the latest version?

john

Hey John,