Grid reference plane

I am new to sketch up,
I am having difficulty finding a grid reference plane that can be angle adjusted that has a scale varient to match cross sectioned cubes.

It’s difficult to know what you are trying to do. Can you explain what you are trying to achieve as an end result?

There is no inbuilt grid reference plane but you can probably create one easily enough.

Your profile is incomplete which means that answers may not be relevant to you.

Trying to get planar alignment I am finding difficult without a grid reference. I am also thinking along the lines of shaping by plane, planar geometry manipulation etc. Like model carving.
If I was capable of making software would I want to pay for software that doesn’t have features that could be useful ?
I can sit and explain scalar geometrical manipulation of flat to spherical concentric geometry but do not have a programming language certificate.
Squares and lines become triangles up to equilateral.
Pixel by zoom reference Gauss.
Sphere surface interaction is radial(rendering by curve reference)
Vector line to surface plot can be achieved by gradient as after thought. Zoom scale makes a difference depending on “mode” this is for graduated curves especially(Tessellation).
The ability to lay out design in 2d and manipulate to a cylinder would be so beneficial !
Ghosting through constructs and enhancing is not easy either.

The SketchUp team has a grid extension …
http://extensions.sketchup.com/en/content/grid-tool

You should be able to rotate the construction grid using the RotateTool.

The team’s tool is parametric. You enter the spacing value first, then draw the rectangular area that you wish to be filled with the grid.

You may also be able to scale the grid uniformly using the ScaleTool.

Thank you Dan.
I envisage origami style construction of design though.
And clay tool type modelling.
Useful for component exposure by wrap/unwrap of intricate multi component equipment.