For 3D printing, how do I get objects to snap to the print floor?

I’m a total newbie to Sketchup and 3D printing, so I apologize for my abject ignorance. I was designing four objects to print, but I had a terrible time getting them aligned perfectly with the floor so that the printer wouldn’t attempt to print in midair, or chop off the bottom. In fact, one of the pieces kept jumping above or below the zero plane.
How do I get objects to rest on the floor consistently?

1 Like

Easiest way I’ve found is to make a big rectangle at floor level. Select the edges and the face and make them a group or component.

Then when you are moving things around, Sketchup will tend to want to locate stuff on that face. The inference will be “On face in group.”

Once you are done, you can hide or delete the big rectangle.

1 Like

Thanks Steven!

I’m a little comforted that it wasn’t an obvious setting that I’d overlooked.

That sounds like a great technique!

If you want to move objects to the ground plane you can start to move with the move tool then let go of the mouse and type [,0] and hit enter and the object will move down to the z plane.

4 Likes

Now Box has a simple solution above but one thing to bear in mind is that there is no need to get your parts on the “floor” of SketchUp before you export them.

If you export multiple parts at once their relationship to each other is important but not their relationship to anything in the SketchUp work area. They can be exported while 20 feet above the ‘floor’ in the SU work area. The only dimension that really comes through to the STL file is DOWN. (“the enemy gate is always down”) So if you do want to export parts as a group you do need to get all of their bottoms aligned. I do that with the move command and grab a lower corner then line up the bottom sides. (although I am going to modify that adding Box’s technique!)