Foam Cut-out

I am totally new to sketchup. I have a specific need in mind. I am able to work around CADs. Is there an “easy” way to invert a selection? That is if I import a CAD file Sketchup of VWX (or similar), I am trying to make a foam cutout for a case insert. So, I need the opposite selection. If I make a foam box, I need to have the item work as an outline for the sutter. Not really sure what the best way to do this would be. Any suggestions?

If I import a CAD for “The thing”. I need to “Thing” to sit cradled in a foam cutout of the 3D outline of the “thing”. How would I go about doing that?

Russ

Yes. You should be able to do that using the Subtract tool in the Solid Tools set. (Your profile indicates you are using SketchUp 2019 which is only available as the Pro version and includes the Solid Tools.)

The shape you use for cutting out the foam needs to be a solid as does the foam. There are also more manual ways to do this using Intersect Faces and other tools.

Here’s a quickie example. In this case I only want the recess for the body of the jack so I made a version of it with no hole down the middle. It’s a solid component as is the block of “foam”. Use Subtract or Trim from the Solid Tools created the recess.

As a new SketchUp user, though, you’ll need to get to grips with the fundamentals of the native tools. You should start doing that here.

2 Likes

Not sure if you literally want VWX, but if so you can draw the outline of your foam shape around the letters and extrude the outer ( non letter ) part.
SU will often not create faces as expected ( you see when i first attempt a selection the letters are not separate) so you will have to trace a part of the letter to get the separate faces to extrude.