Faces not connecting

Hey all, just a precursor, I am fairly new to sketchup and 3D modeling as a whole.

What I am trying to do is create faces from a CAD generated dxf file. So far I have had no issues with doing this, however recently I came across a few scenarios where the faces will not draw.

Since they will not draw, I have used the contours tool to create TINs to attempt to figure out the issue. Unfortunately I need faces for what I am trying to accomplish and I cannot use the TINs.

Here is one scenario I ran into (I would attach multiple pictures but am not allowed):

My theory is that the face will not draw because the surface is not flat due to that one edge, but I cannot understand why the TIN would not draw properly.

If anyone knows how to either add a face to the mesh or why I am running in to this issue, please let me know. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
-Taylor

Any chance that you could share a file? Without it we can guess or throw ideas at you, but sharing the file will assure a more accurate answer and more helpful replies.

If you can upload the skp file that would let us give a definite answer. Have you tried turning on View->Hidden Geometry ? It’s not definite from your image, but it looks like the front of that object is not planar, like there is a flap hanging out into space.

Yes it does look like the edge is hanging out like so:

I am just curious if this is an issue with the DXF or if it has something to do with sketchup.

Here is the file:

Test3.skp (84.3 KB)

For sure that corner is caterwonkered in the skp! Can you also upload the original dxf so we can try to see whether the issue arose before or during import?

DXF Test.dxf (86.4 KB)

Here you go, thanks for the help by the way, it is also nice to know I was on the right track.

As best I can see, the problem exists in the original dxf:

So what do you think is the problem? The lines are connected and I am able to join them in the DXF.