Edges not adding to selected tag

Hi,

Has there been changes to how tags work in Skechup Free? I’ve been using the tools for the last 2 years, and new edges have always been added to my current tag. But just recently it stopped doing that. Now new edges are left untagged. Can i change this, it’s double the job to add all the edges afterwards.

br,

I’m not aware of any change but your workflow is a big no-no!!
Edges and faces should always be created untagged, then made into groups and components.
Those groups and components can then be given a tag.
Tagging edges and faces is a good recipe for desaster! I should know, I’ve been there…

1 Like

They were removed the possibility to change the active tag other then Untagged. The reason explained above… Draw your edges, faces Untagged and make a group or component and assign Tag to that grupp component…

2 Likes

I disagree, Tag for edges and faces should not with noob but it’s a huge advantage for who knows to use it. Espcially there are many extensions could handle if there is something out of control.

I agree that you disagreed!
However for who knows how to use it, should use the desktop version, especially because of the Extensions you mentioned only available there… :wink:

2 Likes

I second that!

2 Likes

The extension to handle if it gets out of control is called default tag geometry from TIG and it moves all the tagged edges and faces to the “untagged” tag.

1 Like

I agree that you agreed when I disagreed.

3 Likes

That’s not really on topic, but sure okay. I understand the group function and it’s use when creating object, but in my case I’m creating a floor plan and 3d sketch of my house. I don’t se the need for groups when building walls.

I draw an edge, it gets untagged, I group it with another edge and tag that. That’s three steps to get my edge tagged.