Drawing correct geometry to use the Push/Pull tool

Hiya,

So I’m new to Sketchup and have been trying to create and recreate a sofa for work.

I have my dims of the sofa as a rectangle to start of with and have been sectioning of the widths and lengths of each seat cushion and back frame.

When I am ready to use the push-pull tool, the face or surface of the rectangular box to represent the top of the seat cushion is not there.

I have tried to go back to my videos regarding drawing geometry, grouping and using the push-and-pull tool but nothing seems to fix my problem.

I’ve added the file so everyone can see.
PRACTICE AGAIN 30TH DEC.skp (193.4 KB)

Any ideas?

Hi, I had a look at your file.

• One half of it is grouped and the other isn’t. When grouped you can’t interact with geometry unless you open that group or explode it.

• Using push-pull won’t work as intended here so you have to use the CTRL button to create an extra face.

• However, in this instance it’s better to use edges (lines) to close the geometry rather than use push pull.

Sketchup has to figure out which lines and surfaces go together. Sometimes SU can’t work out which edges to prioritize. When this happens, SU seems to be “broken” but it’s a programming issue as far as I can see.

Sketchup Geometry that won’t behave is frustrating. To overcome this, here is a workaround:

1. Select the geometry that’s not behaving properly.
2. Group it.
3. Open the group and edit the geometry inside it.
4. (Hopefully you can fix the geometry, but if you can’t then delete the geometry that’s not behaving and then rebuild it.)
5. Close the group.
6. Explode the group.

Voila- Geometry fixed.

Let me know how it goes.

learn.sketchup.com

4 Likes