Drafting Standards

It would be nice to have drafting standards integrated/integrable into LayOut.
E.g. https://www.nationalcadstandard.org/ncs6/

@donneyclark, desiring to understand better, are you referring to the AIA CAD Layer Guidelines section or a different element of standard? Best.

Not AIA standards. I am not an architect nor do I work for an architectural firm.
I am a design technician (drafting technician) working for a design builder.

But are you talking about layer naming conventions or what?

Uniform Drawing System

(Sorry. I double checked the website and saw what you were asking about.)

Are you requesting drafting symbols be embedded in LO?

+1 for globally recognised standards to be considered.

Linetypes, swatches, layer organisation, symbols, fonts, etc should be incorporated into SU/LayOut so that it is possible to create a compliant drawing if necessary.
A “Drafting Standards” expansion pack for LayOut could be created.

But then are we supposed to do anything in LayOut or are we supposed to draft in SketchUp and export to LayOut for annotation and page arrangement?

2 Likes

Not necessary drafting symbols embedded per se. I believe that there are some symbols available in the Scrapbooks tray.

(Maybe this actually gets into the need for better LayOut tutorials, including Scrapbooks tutorials.)

I’m still trying to understand what you want to have added to LayOut.

I like this comment.

All of that stuff can be incorporated into LayOut with a combination of added scrapbooks and templates with appropriate layers added for your application. I don’t think those things should be forced on users, though. Standards vary around the world and by discipline.

You should be making a template or templates that suit your needs so you don’t have to set up those things each time.

5 Likes