Door Strike Draft

Hello I am completely new to Sketch-up. Except for high School drafting I have no experience. I was looking for a cad alternative to draft a plan for a door strike. I had imagined I would draw the basic shape then add the dimensions manually and be done. My model is a 3 mm thick 39 mm wide 800 mm long door strike. There are 2 cut outs for dead bolts and 3 holes for screws. I am able to draw the basic shape but when I use the dimension tool to define the dimensions it displays in meters instead of millimetres. Also when you adjust the drawing the dimensions adjust accordingly but if you enter the dimensions the drawing doesn’t adjust to the new dimensions. It seems impossible to drag the size to a precise dimension like 38 mm. Also even after setting a scale 3:1 paper to model the 800 mm is way to long for the paper and can only be seen when zoomed out all the way.

Am I missing something? It isn’t intuitive and even after reading the help files it seems there is no easy solution.

Any guidance is much appreciated.

So it sounds like you’ve drawn your model in meters instead of millimeters. You can change the units to millimeters under Model Info>Units.

Probably the easiest way to resize the plate to the correct dimensions is to use the Tape Measure tool to measure between two points at a known distance. click at each end. then type the correct distance and hit Enter. Answer the question about resizing the model and then use Zoom Extents to zoom in to the new, correctly sized plate.