Do other industries use SketchUp other than Architecture and Interiors. Like say Media?

Hello community. I am relatively new to SketchUp. I have been using the software for the past several months. I do have 3D experience with other packages, but the industry I am currently in uses SketchUp primarily. I work in Architecture and have been in production for sometime. I haven’t used SketchUp at work, but I would like to do so.

My question is, are there other industries that use SketchUp beyond Architecture? If so, are you in one of those industries and how did you get there? I like Architecture, but I am also interested in illustration and art as well.

Here is something I created of personal interest. I created everything in this scene in SketchUp. No imports or 3D Warehouse models or textures. This again was just personal interest and an opportunity to try different modeling techniques and workflows.

It started out as just one Marine. Can I make a person? Then it turned into different poses, the environment, vehicles, palm trees, etc. This is really just a hobby piece, but it shows me that SketchUp can do more than just Buildings.

I really enjoy using SketchUp. I hope that I can find a way to use it as a Pro.

Regards,

Eric

4 Likes

I work in the software industry and use SketchUp all the time! (But I technically work at SketchUp, so that’s silly useless data for you.)

It’ll be interesting to see how this thread fills out, but I can confirm we’ve had people in just about any industry I can think of that might use models or need to visualize data, examples include; Game Studios, Movie Studios (both live action and animated), Graphic Design, Graphic Novels/Comic Books, Theatre (set design), Building Maintenance, Construction/Carpentry, Woodworking, Landscaping and Interior Design.

Thats not even touching the hobbies that enjoy SketchUp such as computer builders/modders, 3d printers, cosplay and others.