Do I need to purchase a license just to develop/maintain an extension for Sketchup 2018?

I am the developer of this extension. It has a few thousand users. It is and always has been entirely free to use. Occasionally I get emails from people who need help using it or who have found bugs that I need to fix. For this reason I need to be able to open Sketchup to use, test, and develop my extension. I have no other reason to use Sketchup as I am not a designer or architect, so I have no personal need for a license.

It seems that if I want to ensure that my extension works correctly in Sketchup 2018 I have to buy a license. This does not seem fair. Maintaining my extension is something that Sketchup and its users benefit from, not me. Is there any workaround? A license for extension developers perhaps?

1 Like

Doubtful, if so then anybody (within reason) could produce a free plugin in order to get a free license.

Develop it on SU 2017 Make. Most of what runs on 2017 will run on 2018. If you’re not developing the extension for commercial purposes you should be fine testing your scripting on SU 2017 Make.

The plugin is several years old, has thousands of users, and its code has been reviewed before being allowed into the warehouse so it’s known to not be some trivial ‘fake’ plugin. It’s easy to tell that it wasn’t created just to get a free license.

Most of what runs on 2017 will run on 2018

That’s already a bad start. But what about three years from now? Will most of what runs on 2017 run on 2021?

Well I guess you’ll just have to fork out the $695 US then, remember that included in that price is support / maintenance for 12 months from date of purchase.

This has been brought up a few times since the dropping of Make from future development. Most people agree that there needs to be some sort of solution for developers and perhaps they will work out something before 2017 gets too long in the tooth.