Dimensional errors in sketchup due to way circles are generated

I am new to Sketchup. I am a mechanical engineer used to the big name CAD program.

I am currently trying to model piping for fabrication. Unless I am missing something, the only wall to model piping elbows to to draw an arc, draw the appropriate OD and ID at one end of the arc, then due a “Follow Me” command to trace the OD and ID around the arc.

Since Sketchup creates arcs and circles as linked line segments, I am getting two different problems.

First, my finished elbow might not have perfectly square ends. The ends (OD and ID of elbow) are perpendicular to the ends of the arc, so unless the ends of the arc are at a line segment’s midpoint, the ends go off at an angle).

Second, I can get dimensional errors in the finished elbow. For example, a 6 inch, 90 degree elbow is supposed to have a radius of 9", but if I use 24 sides for my arc path and diameter circles, I end up with a finished elbow that has a radius of about 8-7/8". This difference is significant when we are trying to pre-fabricate welded steel piping for field installation.

Am I just missing something or is there a better way?

When I need to create things like your pipe elbows, I start with a circle instead of an arc and then quarter it at the mid-points of segments 90° from each. This makes the ends of the elbow square to the ends of the path rather than projections to square.

And if I need more precision, I increase the number of segments in the path. The rear elbow in this image was made starting with a default 24-sided circle. The near one was made starting with a 96-sided circle.

1 Like

You may wish to save yourself some frustration:
https://extensions.sketchup.com/en/content/3skeng-pipe

1 Like

My description might not have been great but this is exactly what I was doing (drawing a circle and drawing lines to get a quarter-circle arc).