Developing Importer for .SHP (or SHX) to SketchUp

I have been working on creating something similar (just for the sake of learning – im a college student) to these maps/renders that really inspired me.

While this particularly amazing example is definitely not using sketchup, I have seen examples to this made in sketchup as well – so i know its possible. One can be found on the sketchup home page currently.

Here is where I am stuck:

• I have a shapefile that defines each building’s perimeter and includes an attibute for hieght, so all the information to create a simple 3d model of all the buildings is there.
  • I am stuck with how to make sketchup accept this information in a quick and efficient way. Maybe some kind of ‘data/attribute defined’ push pull tool applied to all the polygons? Is something like that possible?

Or is this kind of ‘communication’ between file types/software not feasible?
I am using Qgis and ArcGIS for the GIS end, and obviously sketchup for the 3D side. I am avoiding autoCAD because my access is limited as this is something i am figuring out in my own time – on my own computer and software.

Are you referring to ESRI-style shapefiles? Do you have a small sample shapefile you can share here? I think if you rename something like “test.shp” to “test.zip” it will upload to the forum (I assume it’s actually a binary file).

Why not?

I don’t see why it couldn’t be done in SketchUp (it might even look better). However, this particular model was done by Luis Dilger who says “The OpenStreetMap data enabled me to visualize the satellite-based information using DEM Earth in Cinema 4D.”

BTW, Google Earth has done a remarkable job of combining angled satellite photos with vertical satellite images along with even more detail from their street-view mappings. Here’s a random shot of a town showing the 3D effects. It’s not until you look closely at the trees and cars that you start to notice the loss of the illusion.