Creating a 3d STL terrain model from usgs or google earth for CNC

I wish to capture a bit of US terrain like a lake and turn it a solid STL mesh I can import into my CNC program (Enroute) and carve it. I have been able to capture and grab an area but don’t know how to make it an STL solid mesh.

The model must be a “Solid Group” or “Solid Component” and then exported to STL
I. e. A closed volume.

Intersect a cube with the terrain and erase what you don’t need.
Here’s an illustration. Download the model and have a look.

Dear Geo,

I’m new to sketch and am having trouble trying to 3D print a front yard landscape. I have a contoured terrain (not flat), so I would very much like to make the volume below the contoured terrain a solid, with a flat bottom. I see you have essentially done that here in this thread, but when I tried it, I did not get a good result. I created a box, put my terrain through the center of it, and then hit “intersect faces”. This seemed to work, after I first went in to the box to make it a group (which seems to be what makes it a solid). I then went in with the select tool and selected the sides of the box above the terrain and hit delete. Seemed to delete them as I would like, but when I look inside the remainder of the box, it is no longer a solid and I dont know how to make it one. Can you help me? I attach the file here.C&J Model 2.skp (719.2 KB) Thank you in advance. Kindest regards, Mike

Hi Mike, @mpuyot

Here’s a reworked version of your model.
C&J Model 2 Fixed.skp (739.8 KB)

Therein, I made copies of the terrain & base and then cleaned them up a bit to create a Solid Group.
Examine the difference between what you’ve modeled and the way you must model to create a Solid.

Creating geometry in separate groups and/or nesting a group within a group as you’ve done, won’t work.
All the geometry must be within a single Group or Component.
Moreover, neatness counts when creating a Solid.
Just one stray edge or tiny gap will spoil the broth.