Creating 3D home from Civil 3D

I’m new to SketchUp Pro 2018, and I’m trying to make a 3D model of a site for my landscape design project. I successfully imported TIN and have a great landscape, but now I’m trying to complete the homes for the site. I built them in Civil3D in the modeling section, and successfully imported them into Sketchup and placed on my landscape, but they are just linework entities. I can’t figure out how to make solid surfaces out of the line work. Just so I’m clear, I used the front, left and right sides, and rear to create the homes, and the roof is still open as well, so I need pointers on how to connect lines to close up/create the roof. Do I need a ruby console or anything? I wasn’t able to upload my model because it’s too big, but I am uploading a screenshot of one of the homes so you can see how it appears currently.

Any and all advice greatly appreciated. I will check back on Tuesday.

What format was the file you imported into SketchUp?

drawing a line onto an existing line will usually make a face (assuming all other coplanar edges are connected.)
There is also a “make face” plugin that does a quicker job of this if there are lots of faces to create.
If you can you should try to isolate each wall as a group so that they are independent entities and their geometries will not mix together.

For working off imported 2D CAD linework, I’ve ended up adopting a strategy of only using them for tracing guides more often than not. SketchUp can reference all the end points and midpoints as you trace over all new geometry.

• The imported line work may bring a bunch of layer information that’s at least unwanted, and often violates the consensus opinion of SketchUp Sages here that loose geometry should not be on anything but Layer0.

• The loose geometry might not be grouped/nested optimally for the shapes you want to create.