Transparent planes/surfaces

Hi all.
Apologies first. I am a complete novice and learning as I go along.
I am using SketchUp Make 2017, newly downloaded.
I am attempting to render a house in 3D in order to visualise different expension designs.
My problem is I have ended up with several planes or surfaces, particularly on the roof which are ‘transparent’. That is, I have complete lines around them but they have not made a ‘surface’. So I can see through them into the interior of the house and whatever I do I cannot make them solid.
Does anyone have any idea what I have done wrong, or how to make these planes/surfaces useable?
I do hope this makes some sense. I am unfamiliar with the jargon.
Thanks.

There are a number of possibilities. One common one is that the edges don’t all lie on the same plane. Try drawing a diagonal line between corners. Do you get triangular faces?

Uploading the SketchUp file is the best thing. It eliminates the need to guess what the problem is.

Thanks DaveR.
What a useful, swift and informative reply!
I tried drawing diagonals on the faces which is very useful for narrowing down the problem area.
I think I have attached a copy of one of my files.
I wouldn’t want you to waste any time on this. But a pointer as to whether it is worth trying to sort it out, considering the numerous problems or, I am thinking more likely, ditching it, watching more tutorials and starting again.
I am probably starting in the wrong place, using incorrect practices or a combination of all.
Thanks again.
30 Kent Road-try2-ext1.skp (312.6 KB)

The first roof part I looked at was the back open area. I copied the edges over and you can see that drawing in a diagonal completed the faces. Also adding guidelines to the top and bottom edges extends the lines so you can see they are’t parallel.

I would expect more of the same in the other problem areas.

Get to looking for the on-axis indications when you are drawing. With a little practice you’ll find it gets easier.