Create rooms in separate files

I am working on rendering a new building we’re in the process of building. It is a 2 story building with a third story mezzanine room. I am still pretty new to using SU, so forgive me if I am asking a question that’s often asked or elementary. I’m finding that the more work I do on my second story (separate file from my first story) it seems to be getting more and more “sloppy”. Is there a way for me to “chunk” the floor plan? Can I create different groups for each room and combine them into one file? Is that the best way to do it? Is there a way to “xRef” rooms into a single file? That seems easiest since you’d be able to just work in the file for the room you’re updating (we’re still somewhat in the process of design) and have it reload to update like you would in AutoCAD. Any thoughts on an easy way to do this?

Thanks in advance for your help!

hello, simply group one of your room, make it a component. Then right click, save as… Open the skp that has been saved, work on it as much as you want, then go back the the master file, right click on the component and chose reload et voilà !

3 Likes

There is no Xref linking like ACAD. it’s hard to guess what “sloppy” is exactly but it sounds like you might want to take some time to thoroughly understand groups components, and Layers. The proper use of these three features is the best practice for keeping a model clean and organized.

If your “rooms” are all identical then you can make them a component, which will auto update every instance when you edit any one. If you must work in separate files you can copy and paste-in-place to move geometry between files in the same location relative to the origin.

If you upload your file here it would be much easier to diagnose what practices you might benefit from.

1 Like

the closest you’re going to get to XREF functionality in SektchUp (currently) is with Cross Reference Organizer

1 Like