Complicated Woodworking Project

Hello All,

I’m sorry kind of new to Sketch up Pro but I hope someone out there can help

I need help with how to breakdown a model I created. I am woodworker hobbyist and I have designed the model I intend on building but I need to break down the model to show how to make it step by step. I have tried multiple ways including adding scenes and layers but I ended up with like 30 scenes and I need to reduce that by half

End Table Oak _ Main Model.pdf (154.9 KB)

End Table Oak _ Main Model.skp (1.1 MB)

I am also thinking that Layout would probably help me out a lot but I have never used it before

Does anyone have any ideas

How about sharing the SKP file?

Yes. Definitely. LayOut would help. I create professional woodworking plans using SketchUp and LayOut and they work together perfectly.

Hi Dave,

Just attached the SKP file, I figured Layout would help but no ideas need to do some homework and I just bought a book called Sketchup to layout

That book will give you a start.

Who is your audience for these plans? Do you have to show step by step assembly instructions?

Hi Dave

There for me, but I also sell plans on Etsy and through my website … so the general public will need to understand them…

Typically the sorts of folks who would tackle a project like this will manage just fine with an assembled view, an exploded view and some dimensioned 3-view drawing of the parts.

Before you worry about creating the plan, you’ll want to fix up the model. A few things from a first look:

Check all of the dimensions closely. Some of them are not very precise. For example the front left leg is about 1-17/32 by 1-1/2 by 25-1/4. I expect you want it to be 1-1/2 in. square, right?
The dimension from outside to outside of the front legs is about 16-1/64 in.
A lot of other dimensions need attention, too.
The "Front Drawer Support is missing a bunch of geometry.
The dovetails on the drawer front are wrong and will have no strength.