CNC plasma cutter

not entirely sure where topost. i chose here since i am using pro version. if t needs to move, thats cool

ok, so i may be getting a cool new cnc plasma cutter to gain more experience and to learn new things. But before i make that decission, especially as a student, i am needing to know how to take a 3d bracket i mae in sketchup and somehow tell the cnc machine to cut it out. A person told me that they think you make drawings of all 3 views then send it to the cnc software.

Is this were layout comes in handy? I use layout to generate my 2d drawings then send it over? or is there another way that i can accomplish this?

Take for example, :

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwioz5jnsOjbAhVqCDQIHWGgAN8QjRx6BAgBEAU&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.com%2Fkknezic%2Fsheet-metal-design%2F&psig=AOvVaw00blYM7Hqk5pHvzoQ70utC&ust=1529795026361634

or this:
https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwi58LyHsejbAhX6HzQIHRg2Ds0QjRx6BAgBEAU&url=https%3A%2F%2Fus.misumi-ec.com%2Fvona2%2Fdetail%2F110302711470%2F&psig=AOvVaw00blYM7Hqk5pHvzoQ70utC&ust=1529795026361634

i know it cant cut the depth and what nbot, so i will have to bend or weld. as long as i know where to bend it or weld it haha

thank you much for the help:)

Create 3D Wireframe 2D Projections?

Here’s a thread that might provide some answers. Of course our beloved forum bot has closed the thread.

https://forums.sketchup.com/t/polylines-with-real-arcs-for-cnc-router/64342

Shep

Dang, that is alot to take in haha. thanks for that link. i will continue to read it. Man im excited though haha

Don’t feel bad, I participated in the thread and understand about half of it. :smile:

Shep