Can you help me reduce the number of polygons/triangles?

Hi,
I’m still fairly new to Sketchup. I’ve created a model of a spiral staircase Staircase 2.skp (1.6 MB). The stats say it’s 280,000+ triangles. This will be part of a household interior that I’m building to import into Unity 5 for a game I’m developing.

Problem is, as it stands now when I walk around inside Unity the frame rate can drop to near zero. I’m assuming it’s because my model is too complex. How can I reduce the complexity of the model, yet maintain the basic look? I’d prefer to edit the stair component rather than having to recreate the model from scratch if possible.

Thanks for your time.

• Ed.
1 Like

Most of it is in the balusters. which you can see if you turn on the view hidden line option.

redesigning the balusters with fewer faces would obviously get the biggest gain in reduction.

Consider looking into using sub-components wherever possible… the bottom block of the balusters, the turning detail. etc…

You can probably get a pretty good reduction. but given the overall qty of the balusters things are going to add up quickly en masse.

MAYBE, look into the ‘Always Face Camera’ setting. . . If you could use that, you could really strip this down to a flat plane with some curved outlines. That would save a ton of edges and faces… But I’m not sure if gaming engines support this sort of thing.

I tried exporting as Collada and FBX. The Collada export is less file size, but a scene in Unity that had both versions in it seemed to run ok.

But, not when you’ve added colliders and try to climb the stairs! Perhaps you could do a much simpler model that has the colliders on it, but is hidden, and only show the detailed one, without it having colliders.

Here is a quick revision of the Banisters. See if that works better.
I reduced the polys somewhat.
Staircase 2.skp (1.2 MB)

That helps a lot, even with colliders on I can climb those stairs without losing frame rate.