Camera & perspective issues, 2D plants from warehouse

Hi everybody,

I’m pretty new to SketchUp and I’ve been stuck on a seemingly simple camera issue that I can’t find anybody talking about online. I’m using some plants I downloaded from 3D warehouse. The plants are made up of many perpendicular 2D faces.

From certain angles, they look fine, but when I rotate the camera the plants overlap over each other and perspective is lost. I’ve been exploding them and making sure they are not “facing the camera” but I still can’t seem to figure it out.

I would be so grateful if somebody could point me in the right direction!

It’s possibly a ‘transparency’ issue since the plants are really PNG textures with transparent backgrounds. Try going to Styles and setting your transparency quality to ‘Nicer’.

So happy to get a response! I changed the transparency quality to nicer and things look a lot better. I think I’m still having the issue but it doesn’t look as bad. I’m concerned that when I go to render the project I’ll still be having the depth issues, but now seeing an improvement by just changing the viewer settings makes me feel like it the issue might not carry over.

It’s not likely to carry over to rendering. What rendering extension are you using?

Also, check to see if there is any opacity applied to the texture itself. If so, removing it may help. See with opacity and without example:

I’m about to sign up for the VRAY free trial. Sorry to ask another question, but is there a real time rendering software popular in the community I can use to test for the issue faster? It’s as if some plants are stuck in the foreground regardless of their position in the space.

VRAY is good option. You could demo Enscape as well if you’re on PC. There are others that now offer Real Time rendering but I’m not familiar with then so can’t say for sure.