Bugsplat suddenly appeared - is my work gone for good?

Hello,
I’m really new to SketchUp and to be honest, my overall computer literacy is low. I was modelling off an jpeg image which I created and then stopped to adjust some display preferences. Having been working away happily for several hours, I suddenly get a message that there is a problem and I should send an error report. I didn’t do this as I’m worried I’m going to lose my work (which is unsaved in an official capacity although I do have the selection box checked to ‘save every 5 minutes’. I reopened SU after it closed itself and can’t find my work. I’ve looked under recent items hoping to see some reference to unnamed work but nothing. Has this gone for good? Any ideas what prompted the sudden Bugsplat given that I’d not downloaded/imported anything from an unknown source? I use a Mac which I thought couldn’t get viruses…!

You should have some backups and autosaves on the same folder where you saved your model. Sketchup autosaves in 10 minutes intervals by default.

You can open autosaved versions in three ways:

• Find them directly in your folder and double click (filename starts with autosave…)
  • Open sketchup first with a blank file and open the file you were working on from inside sketchup (wich makes a dialog pop up asking if you want to open the autosaved version)
  • Open your file as usual, do a single line or double click a component and use File > Revert, wich will open the file you saved or pop up for the dialog above.

there may be an Autosave_Untitled.skp in your User Library folder…

/Users/<your user name>/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2016/SketchUp/Autosave

but, it may not have been generated…

if it is in there, rename it and move to Documents before opening, or open it and Save As, with a sensible name…

john

unless you have extensions installed the most likely candidate is the imported jpg…

is it very complex, very large, very small, or far from the model axis…