Bring back a non-pro version of the desktop application

I have been using Sketchup for 15+ years (from the days of Google) non-professionally for various hobby, woodworking and home renovation projects. Up until about six months ago I was using Sketchup Make 2017, however when I got a new laptop and could no longer download the 2017 version, I decided to finally subscribe to the “Go” plan with access to the web version. Given how much I’ve used Sketchup through the years and have certainly got value from the product personally, I had no hesitation in paying for a subscription to get the extra features over the free version.

After six months or so of using the web version, I am so dissapointed at how terrible it is and how much of a backward step it is in terms of usability, flexibility and reliability. It’s slow, buggy and really frustrating to use especially in regards to 3d Warehouse and cloud storage.

Some of the main gripes I’ve had include:

• The app bogs down with even the most simple of models from 3d Warehouse. My computer is no slouch - a 2021 M1 Pro MBP with Google Chrome (always up to date), but it routinely locks up for 10+ seconds at a time when there’s a “complex” model in my project that I dare try to move or rotate. I never had performance issues like this with even very complex models on the desktop version 15 years ago.
  • The app will randomly crash the tab when using different controls in the sidebar. E.g. just today I toggled the guides visibility… “Ah snap!”
  • I can’t just leave a model open in the background. If I sleep my machine or don’t go back to the tab for a few hours, when I do I need to refresh the app (which takes you back home) to get it going again.