Best way to create and then modify furniture objects with specific dimensions?

Hi, I’m new to SketchUp Web and going through the intro videos. One thing I am having trouble with is creating 3D objects to the dimensions that I need. I’m working on designing an L-shaped home bar and I know the height of the bar, and length and width of its sides but as I draw starting with the Rectangle tool, it seems like you only get the chance at the beginning to set the measurement dimensions. There doesn’t seem to be a way to change the measurement once you have drawn the rectangle so if you are piecing things together to create a group, you need to have the right dimensions for every part in advance which makes it hard if you are experimenting to see how various components fit together in 3D space.

Any tips or guides on how to be able to play with dimensions so that you can experiment and tune sizes as you go instead of having to redraw every piece to change dimensions?

Thanks!
Rick

Rick,

If you’ve create a simple 2D rectangle and want to change its dimensions later, you can use the Move tool to move a single edge or in some cases, the Scale tool will be appropriate. Keep in mind that scaling for furniture parts is frequently not the right tool, though.

If your “rectangle” is actually three dimensional, you could add Push/Pull to the tools for changing dimensions.

I frequently have to modify dimensions of parts either because I get new information or, as in the case of these tables, I need to make a different version of the first.

The coffee table was made from a copy of the side table and except for the knee brackets, everything else was modified use the Move tool. Have a look at this.