Attributes from a list and IF

Hey there! its me again, honestly i dont know what i would do without this forum haha

I am not good with the IF functions, if its this function the one that i should use, i proceed to explain:

I have a list of materials like this to select the color of the Component:

Senza titolo

Now, i want to have another attribute, hidden because it is only useful for my report, that should do this:
If the material selected is Bianco W, then it should show a W, and so

I tried to write =if(material,bianco W)=w but it wont work :confused:

=if(argument, result is true, result if false)

=if(material=“Bianco W”, “W”, material)

to include all

=choose(optionindex(“attribute name”), “W”,“G”,“MS”,“Y”,“K”,“S”,“N”,“O”,“YE”,“I”,“B”)

so it choose the letters based on the list index, with correct attribute name

1 Like

Weird things are happening :laughing:

Correction, sorry did not test

Need the quotes for string otherwise the formula is looking for an attribute

with if, String compare in argument should be same, if (material=“Bianco W”…

corrected above I think, of course much easier to have files, can you consider sending to email?

another way is to find the space, then return what is after

pos=find(" ",result,1)
new_result = mid(result,pos+1,len(result)-pos)

that works if there is a space

for “Bianco W”
pos = 7
mid = start at 8, length = length of string (8) -7 =1
so returns a string at position 8 with a length of 1

1 Like

I am going to try and otherwise i send you it but it will be late this day because i have to go back home, thanks!

another amendment,
attribute name is not material, but the dropdowns attribute

maybe
result = choose(optionindex(“distinta_colore”), “W”,“G”,“MS”,“Y”,“K”,“S”,“N”,“O”,“YE”,“I”,“B”)