Arcs not filling

Hi all, I’m new to the SketchUp forums. I have a question about filling arcs…

When using the Arc tool to draw quarter and semi-circles on a plane, then drawing the same arc above and connecting the two ends with straight lines, the arc is not filling and I have no way of getting it to fill.

I’m using the free web version, is this some kind of Pro version feature or something?

Thanks in advance.

If your arcs are truly coplanar and all the edges are closed it should generate a face. Download your model to your desktop and upload it here on the forum by dragging the file into a reply window. If we can see the model we can likely tell you what is going wrong.

Edit: having just re red your post, it sounds a bit like you are expecting the vertical rounded faces between your above and below arc to form. This will not happen. Make a complete face of your bottom arc then push pull it upwards to form vertical faces between arcs.

Hi, thanks for your quick reply!

Yes, I think you have the idea of what I’m trying to achieve but how do I push/pull a line? I do not want the face of the arc to have thickness. I’ve downloaded models from the 3D Warehouse which have this single line thickness arcs on two and three planes. A good example is the rear wheel-arch of the Mercedes Sprinter vans in the Warehouse.

I’ll see if I can upload the model here.

Thanks

You must push pull as a face. Erase the back when you’re done if you like.

You don’t. Create a face by drawing a line between the endpoints of the arc and then extrude the face. Erase the lines to leave just the curved surfaces.

So how would I create a 3D fill then?

I’d use Follow Me for that instead of Push/Pull.

You would model faces across the plane of the back side. Let’s make sure we are talking about the same thing: SketchUp is a surface modeler, there is no fill, nothing is solid. Everything is a collection of planes. An object can have outer bounds but it is still “hollow” inside.