Any fixes for a mouse (and/or trackpad) that's impossibly slow?

Hello - this is my fist post. I’ve been using Sketchup Free for many years here and there for simple home projects. Small 3D models, nothing too sophisticated or large.

I use SketchUp for Web (freemium) on an iMac 2017 (27") with MacOS Ventura 13.6.4 (22G513) in Chrome version 122.0.6261.94 (Official Build) (x86_64) and a Radeon Pro 580 8 GB Graphic card. I have an Apple Magic Mouse (model A1657) and an Apple Trackpad (model 1339).

In more than one of my project drawings, both my mouse & trackpad are impossibly & unusably slow and sluggish. (Trying one at a time, of course). I tried looking for Mac OS updates (none available), rebooting, running disc util, rebooting again, logging out & in anew in SketchUp, rebooting & charging my mouse more than the 44% it was, new batteries in the Trackpad, flipping various SketchUp settings for the mouse/trackpad, moving to Safari version 17.3.1 (18617.2.4.11.12, 18617) but none help.

I am only using one Bluetooth pointing device at a time (Trackpad rarely used and always powered off when unused). My only other Bluetooth device is an Apple keyboard (model 1644). No other Bluetooth devices in use (no headphones, no phones or iPads syncing via Bluetooth). No other RF/wireless devices within a few feet of the mouse & keyboard (I think, ruling out RF interference - I spent a couple decades at FCC RF testing labs). My WiFi devices are 20 feet away in another room - and I’ve been using SketchUp for Web with no such mouse problems for 6+ years with the same basic equipment, setup and proximities.

Any other things to try? Help me Obiwan Kenobi, you’re my only hope. And THANKS!

Dose this “slowness” happen on a fresh empty file? What is the size (mb) of the files that feel laggy or slow?

1 Like

I know its obvious but have you checked your system settings for the mouse and the trackpad to ascertain that they are not set to be slow?

Hello & thanks for your reply!