Angular Dimensions for Geometry Class

Hello, I am a High School math teacher with medium level experience with SU (free & Pro). My geometry students have access to SU for Schools on their Chromebook devices.

I would love to do more work on curriculum development integrating SU with various geometry standards. There are so many direct connections between SU native tools and classic geometric standards (linear dimensions, tape measure, scaling objects, transformations, etc). One shortcoming seems to be the lack of angular dimensioning on SU for Schools.

I understand the work around using arc drawing tool , text insert, etc. In a particular situation this may be completely sufficient.

However, in trying to use SU for Schools to help my students learn geometric concepts, it would extremely effective to have angular dimensions available. If you think about most classic geometry topics in school - triangle congruence, parallel lines, angle relationships, etc - they require knowledge of the angle dimension. I can envision the creation of so many wonderful learning opportunities where students could measure and mark up angles on a SKP file . These angular dimensions could be a way for students to demonstrate logical reasoning in proofs. Students can demonstrate angle relationship properties in intersecting lines, similar triangles, etc

Thank you for considering this topic. I am happy to engage with folks that have worked on this with students in your classrooms OR with Sketch Up forum moderators. Really appreciate it

1 Like

I’m assuming you mean annotation labels of angular dimensions, as the protractor tool can be used to create guides at desired angles and to measure existing angles. The rotate tool can also rotate through a specified angle. Layout, which comes with the pro version, can label an angle in a Layout file. But no version of SketchUp has a tool to label an angular dimension in a skp file. Even in the pro version of SketchUp one must use an extension.