Alternative "Delete Coplanar Edges" Plugin

Sketchup 2015 Make
Mac OS 10.10.4

I’m new to Sketchup and a friend recommended deletecoplanaredges.rb by CAD Addict to quickly delete edges of overlapping elements. I downloaded the file and installed the plugin but it returns an error message when I restart Sketchup.

I’ve tried to contact the developer but haven’t received reply.

Two questions:
Could this be a compatibility issue? The CAD Addict website doesn’t list compatibility requirements.
Is there an alternative that will work on a Mac?

ThomThom’s CleanUp³ is worth having.

But it may not specifically have this edge deleter ? (It does have a coplanar face merger.)

The Ruby file for that plugin lists 2005 as the last version date. If that is true, it very likely needs to be updated for compatibility with SketchUp versions 2014 and later, since they use a newer version of Ruby.

Is this website the original source of the plugin(s)? I get various listings when I Google “CAD Addict”.

If SMustard is the original source, then get it only from them.

Just a note for people using the merge face option to delete coplanar edges with the cleanup plugin:

The delete coplanar (merge faces) option in cleanup does not work that great. Coplanar edges most of the time are not deleted when the tool is activated, loops of lines have to be broken within the selection you are trying to make coplanar for the merge faces tool to recognize that these edges should be deleted. It works great in many instances, not all and in some cases a pain that it doesn’t.

Still have yet to find a plugin that can delete all coplanar edges between planar faces… Shoot…

2 Likes

CleanUp 3 has always worked great for me. Using merge faces I don’t see a problem. If there are edges that are not dividing faces, they won’t be affected. Running “delete stray edges” will get those.