Align and Distribute Objects

I am somewhat new to SketchUp, but I’m learning quickly and going faster.

I am surprised that there is no function included to ALIGN objects (to a certain edge, or to their centers), or to DISTRIBUTE objects evenly over a given distance. Those functions are included in just about every other major program (Corel Draw, Illustrator, Adobe programs, even Microsoft Office programs), but not in SketchUp.

Are there plans to include these functions in an upcoming release of SketchUp?

2 Likes

Please don’t start another thread on this. I just answered your question in the other thread.

Okay, sorry … One was a question, the other was a Feature Request.

I appreciate all. This is a wonderful resource.

1 Like

The feature already exists, though.

You will never know just as we can never be sure when the next version of the software will be released. Past history suggests that it should be any day now but you would be a mug to bet your shirt on it. Like God, Trimble moves in mysterious ways.

Am I missing it, then?
I don’t see where I can select several objects and align them with the click of a mouse.
I understand we’re working in 3D, and that we can draw various guides and move the objects to the guide individually … I was hoping it was more “pushbutton” as in other programs.

I’ll look at those other tools.
Again, thank you (from a new user).

1 Like

@VanMorrow is using Make2017 and that’s not going to be updated anymore so i guess the answer is no…

I didn’t say that you could do that with the native tools. I did give you a list of extensions that can help with that. The native Move tool is capable of evenly distributing copies of instances and with proper use of components it’s easy enough to distribute different components. This has also been mentioned. Often just a little forethought is enough.

That’s why it’s a feature request. Personally I think it’s a great one and I’d welcome it if it were added.

2 Likes