Advice needed, trying to 3D model an elliptical part on a StarWars ship

Hi folks, newbie here. Been learning Sketchup Free (iMac Snow Leopard Ver. 10.6.6) for use in scale modeling Star Wars ships. One Im particularly fond of is Boba Fett’s Slave 1 from Empire Strikes Back. These ships onscreen were actually real scale models made by master modelers at ILM and I’d love to try to recreate the real 1/24 Studio Scale Slave 1 in Sketchup, possibly getting it 3D-Printed (via upgrading to Sketchup Pro if all goes well). The ship’s fuselage appears to be primarily a group of curved surfaces blended into a hull, also a skirt and a set of wing wells. I’m basing most of this off side/top/back/front photos of a very small but also very accurate 1/144 scale Bandai Slave 1 model. The first part I’m trying to make in 3D is the bottom “Skirt,” which is a set of asymetrical elliptical shapes bent around the ship’s hull. I figured starting with a 3D dome stretched over the outline of the skirt in top view would be the best way to go. But the real tricky part is when the Skirt rises upwards in the Z-Axis/Plane where it gets asymetrically narrow and meets the ship’s hull. I don’t if this complex curvature/shape can be done without plugins/Sketchup Pro but I’ve seen several forum questions answered with very cool/slick ways of accomplishing the objective. I’m hoping y’all can chime in with advice on the best way to tackle the Skirt. Again I’m new to Sketchup, but 24 yrs ago I worked for an architect/engineer drawing house plans in CAD for about 6-7 yrs (he just checked my stuff before blue-printing…). So I do know the basics of 3D extrusions/etc (ARRIS CAD…old stuff!!). I’m sorry for the super-long post, btw I’ll try to put up a few pics of the Slave 1 scale model. I think I read in the forum instructions that images/etc should be posted separately from the text in a forum topic’s post…plz let me know if interpreted that wrong . Thanks, and def hope to hear from ya!