3D Warehouse convert to STL

I am a teacher using mysketchup. The school has just purchased a 3D printer. My students have all made a model to print. I have created a simple model of a dice and uploaded into 3D Warehouse to convert to an STL file. I left it overnight & it is still not converted.

How long does this process take?
Does this length of time represent a problem with the model?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated as my students are very excited to print their models.

Thanks

Paul

It shouldn’t take a long time but it is entirely possible that your model isn’t suitable. Perhaps you could provide a link to the model in the Warehouse so we can see it and tell you for certain.

I found your model and it is not suitable for 3D printing. It isn’t a solid. Removing the stray edge would take care of that.

Wow Dave. Thank you for replying so quick. I have got rid of the stray and am uploading again.

I will post again with my result this time.

Thanks again.

Is there a typical time that it takes to create the STL?

Not sure of the typical time, but you can create an STL file instantly with the free extension.

1 Like

Except the extension won’t work with My.SketchUp.

…well… Yeah… There’s that…

…

…

If you are ever in SketchUp, THEN you can create an STL file instantly with the free extension.

(thanks for the catch, @DaveR!)

1 Like

At school we only have SkectchUp Make (2015) or the mysketchup. I have tried to access the extension library via the Make version I can see the STL extension but it hangs up on the sign in screen. Can I add extensions with Make?

try downloading it from the Extension Warehouse in your internet brwoser. Then use Preferences>Extensions>Install Extension to install it. (Preferences is in the SketchUp menu to the left of File.)