3D Solids for Beginners

Hello there, I am a newbie amongst both SketchUp & 3D printing, I am looking to combine my Model I am building with the build size capabilities of the printer I am most interested in and so my project looks a bit like a puzzle. Having to design a light fixture that allows for good heat distribution while not leaving many opportunities for sad little buggies to fly into the device

After spending a couple hours here and there for the past couplea weeks I had learned a fair bit in the SketchUp pro sample period and later moved on to the free web app.

In the past day or so I’ve noticed my objects may not be solids

I am looking into buying the SketchUp Shop version, to allow me to continue to work online & enable many of the 3D tools I’ve been researching about, that’ll save me a lot of time when it comes to having to redo the project (if need be)

Though I am interested in ways of fixing the work that’s already been done, thanks for reading :smiley: Any & all help will be greatly appreciated, be it on 3D printing advice, making objects solid and/or using SketchUp Shop (Can plug-ins be added to the web browser?)

Cheers,
-Lghammer

The web version doesn’t make use of plugins possible. You’ll need a desktop version of SketchUp.

1 Like

Is this to use for commercial purposes? If so, you need a Pro licence, and I too like @Wo3Dan would recommend a desktop version, not Shop, so you can use plugins.

If only for a hobby, with no commercial usage, you could use the older but still free and very functional Sketchup Make 2017, from Download All | SketchUp.

It does NOT have Solid Tools, nor some of the import/export options of Pro or Shop, but you can always perform solid operations using Intersect faces and manual cleanup, and check for solidity with the free plugin Solid Inspector2.

Make does includes Outer shell but not any of the other solid tools. (Checked in Make 2014 - I don’t have Make 2017, only Pro).