3D Model to See How High-Voltage Power Lines Impact My Property/Garden

Hi Sketchup Community

I am a newbie, so please excuse any dumb questions about Sketchup or incorrect terminology … and I hope I have posted this in the right place.

I have done an internet search to see what free software might allow me to create a 3D model of my property and garden and Sketchup came up in my search.

What I am trying to do is create a 3D model of my garden (nothing fancy just the a scaled model of the dimensions), then drop in my house and also a high-voltage electricity pole that is on the border of my property and the wires that cross the garden.

I am looking at extending and remodelling my house but the high-voltage power lines create a health & safety issue and I want to be able to model extensions to the property, changes to the roof or possibly demolish & build a new property within the garden footprint and be able to use Sketchup to understand the distances (x, y and diagonal) from various points of the property to the high-voltage wires to see if I have a health & safety issue.

This is the simple newbie question, will the free web version of Sketchup Web allow me to do the above?

If it can then a further question is will Sketchup allow me create a ‘no-go’ zone around the high-voltage wires so I can then take measurements (x, y and diagonal) using Sketchup Web to selected points in the garden so that I can understand what is in effect the ‘safe’ footprint area of the garden to re-build a property in?

Is the above quite simple to do (and for a newbie to learn how to do) in Sketchup Web?

Regards
Neil

It isn’t trivially simple, but not too difficult either, and well within SU’s capabilities.