House/garden re-modelling: flipping between different ideas

Hi,

I’m a total newbie so this is not so much a question “How do I do X” as “Can I do X” or “Is X something SketchUp is designed for”…

I want to create an accurate model of my house and garden so that I can visualise how it looks now, plan changes, and visualise what the changes will look like. e.g. take a walk-through my house to see if my decorations will look good, see how removing/reducing trees will affect the sunlight in my yard in the evening, etc.

I get the impression SketchUp can do all these things well(?) but one particular thing is being able to roll these changes forwards/backwards to directly compare. Of course I can save copies of my work with each change made but I’m hoping for something a bit more user-friendly… even creating a little animation showing the changes being applied in turn (if you’ve seen the TV show Grand Designs you probably know what I mean). Ideally I’m looking for the ability to virtually explore my property, and create a slide-show or video of it.

I was looking at another product specifically designed for house -planning but it is quite pricey, well on a par with SketchUp Pro, so I thought I’d investigate the free option first :slight_smile:

Any insight on this sort of thing would be appreciated. Ideally without going super-technical, but if there are specific search-terms or extensions you can point me to to investigate on my own that would be great, or tutorials/examples which cover similar use-cases.

Many thanks.

1 Like

Without getting into too much detail, you can do what you want with SketchUp. Basically you would draw the various elements using groups or components to keep the various elements separate. Then you can use layers to control the visibility of those elements.