Changing materials from a CAD drawing

I am new to SketchUP Pro. I work with a builder and we are trying to change different materials on an existing CAD plan. The main purpose of this program for us, will be to show customers different materials mainly on the outside of the building/home. Would SketchUP be what we’re looking for? Or any other recommendations?

You could use SketchUp to show different materials on buildings or whatever. There are a number of ways to actually do it in SketchUp. Which exact method kind of depends on what you have to start with as your model.

Exactly what do you mean by “CAD plan”.

We were sent a DWG file. I’m not an architect and I’m completely overwhelmed by trying to learn and navigate through sketchup.

Do not instantly try and build the house from a dwg. Go through the Sketchup examples/training vids. Play around. Screw it up on something simple first. Get the basics down. You can do this in 2 hours. If you combine the two, you will make some BIG mistakes on the house model that will take way more than 2 hours to fix. Learn the basics first. Then go screw up the paid work. :wink:

So some basics: 1) You can import the dwg into sketchup. That’s easy. Depending on how careful the person that drew it was, you may have some cleanup to do. I often have things projecting up into space despite being a ‘2d’ drawing in Autocad. Often this is caued by autocad blocks that are dynamic, sometimes from lazy drafting practices.
I use the excellent “Architect Tools” by TomTom and then ‘Flatten’ icon. Then I try to close as many not-quite-connected like they’re supposed to be edges/lines with TomTom’s Edge-Tools2. Both are free on the Sketchup plugin store. This makes making faces a lot easier for extruding when possible.

1. Now that it’s all flat, get rid of as much as possible that you don’t need. Like furniture layers, toilet symbols, etc.