2017 Make - Solid tools

Hi - I’m a SU novice learning to use 2017 Make.
I notice that solid tools only appear to be available to Pro SU versions. Similarly the solid tools I can find in the Extension Warehouse are also limited to Pro.
Is there a (simple) way of performing these functions in 2017 Make?

Yes. BoolTools 2 will work in SketchUp Make.

Another option which may involve more manual effort without requiring Pro or extensions: use the Intersect With (Selection/Context/Whole Model) function, and then delete the bits you don’t want. I find this very handy when my model geometry is not yet solid - say I’ve just started working on one part of a shape. If I want to cut something out of the work-in-progress shape, Intersect With Selection between the partial shape and some cutter geometry works well (with cleanup).

2 Likes

That’s great - thank you Dave.

I have another quick question for you if that’s OK. What is the best way of constructing a filet between two arcs?
If I try to use a 3 point arc to do this then the different segments of the target arcs all get picked up & it doesn’t work. If I make the targets a group then I can’t trim them. I have had a look at the Extensions Warehouse but so far haven’t found a suitable filet tool.
What would you suggest?

Thanks again

John

Thanks Tom - I’ll do some experimenting with this.
John

Can you show an example .skp file of what you are trying to accomplish?

If you are referring to 3D fillets you might want to look at Fredo6’s FredoCorner and his Round Corner. Both are available from SketchUcation.

By the way, if you aren’t familiar with Intersect Faces suggested by @TDahl, you should learn about using it. It is extremely valuable and doesn’t need to be difficult. I made the probably erroneous assumption that you had tried that but were looking for a Boolean option. Both have their place.

My problem is a 2D one - I want to construct an outline shape which can then be extruded using push / pull.