When I create a new component or group and paste it into one scene, it appears in all my scenes

I have used Sketchup for a long time but this is my first attempt at drawing a complete house to send viewports to Layout to create permit drawings for the building department. I have learned all these steps but I can’t figure out one pesky problem.

The entire house is drawn with separate groups for Foundation, Framing, Drywall, etc. I have also created many Scenes showing various parts of the house ie. First Floor Walls, Second Floor Walls, etc. by selectively enabling/disabling visibility of components or groups of components I don’t want included. I use the visibility eye in the Outliner to select or deselect them. Everything works great except: If I select one of my scenes and draw a new component or group of components -say- I create an additional wall in the First Floor Walls scene, when I switch to the Second Floor Walls scene, the new wall shows up there as well, and all other scenes I have created in addition to that.

I think I must be grouping incorrectly or something. I want to add a wall to just one scene.

Does my explanation make sense? I have searched for weeks to find an answer but haven’t found anyone experiencing that exact problem.

Scenes are not just static views of the model as it was at the time the scene was created. Think of the scenes as live camera views that will show you the current state of the model. If you add a couch to the living room, the couch will show in every scene that shows that part of the living room.

What are you doing for the second floor scene to not show the first floor walls?

I think you are, too. Or at least managing the groups incorrectly.

If you share the SketchUp file with us we can give you specific help.

Thanks Dave,
I am brand new to posting problems here. I could muddle around figuring out how to share my file but why don’t you guide me on how to do that first. It is a big file (I presume).