What is Layout?

I’m a complete beginner, and I’ve downloaded SketchUp, it also installed something called Layout, but I can’t find any simple description of what this program does or how it relates to SketchUp?

LayOut is the tool for creating documentation from your SketchUp model. You start in SketchUp, draw your project and create scenes to show the different views. then you can send the file to LayOut, add dimensions, labels, other text, perhaps photos or whatever. then export a PDF file to send to a client or use it to do a presentation on screen.

There’s a dynamic link maintained from the SketchUp model to the LayOut document so it you edit the SketchUp model, those changes can be shown in the LayOut doc.

What are you planning to use SketchUp for? What sort of projects will you model with it/

One thing you will discover in a few days is that Layout and Style Builder are Pro features. Although you downloaded Make, you get to try out those for a few days. If you don’t plan on buying Pro, then just do nothing, the preview of those features will go away on its own.

Thanks for the info,

I’m looking for a tool/system to do simple mechanical design for home constructed electronic projects, mostly boxes with holes, but being able to model assembly of modules inside an enclosure would be very useful.

So start in SketchUp and draw your project there. Then, if you need to create documents such as plans with dimensions, use LayOut for that end of it.

U have the same issue - seems like layout is surplus to requirements I can’t see what i can do in layout that i can’t do in sketchup… unless i’m missing somthing?

You can indeed do a great deal in SketchUp alone.

But Layout is designed to help produce 2D documents for construction drawings, and has better facilities for titling, dimensioning, overlaying detail views in one viewport, and printing to scale for starters. Some people find it invaluable for their workflow.