Using downloadable profiles

When using downloadable profiles what type of file would I use? Options are .pdf, .rvt, .dwg, .dxf.

What kind of profiles are you talking about. Profiles of what?

Most likely I would think .dwg or .dxf would be appropriate. It depends on what they are and how much detail you need, and how they will be used once you get them into SketchUp.

I’m a woodworker trying to create cabinets/ built-ins for customers so I need to download trim profiles from my local lumberyard and use them in my drawings.

So molding profiles. If they will supply .dxf or .dwg files for their molding profiles use them. Use the imported CAD files as references, though and draw your own profiles from them. Very often that sort of thing will have way more detail than you need for the way it’ll be used. Read that as way too many edge segments in curves. Using them as they come will probably bloat your model files without benefit.

You can easily trace image file formats too- jpg, png, pdf etc. Most can be done with just straight lines and arcs. Set arc segments to 6 or 8 max as Dave says. Any more than that is overkill unless you’re going to export close up views of just the mo(u)ldings.
You could ask your local yard if they’d mind you tracing their whole chart and posting the results to the 3D warehouse. I’ve done this with a couple of our suppliers. (Search for Mansfield Timber if you’re curious.) I did that one a long time ago- before I knew how to draw curves properly!

Jono makes a good point. It’s not difficult to trace imported images. .jpgs or .pngs will work. SketchUp on Windows won’t import .pdfs. My reason for suggesting the CAD files is you would at least get snappable points to anchor your drawn geometry to.

As he wrote, keep arc segment counts low. That’s part of what I was getting at in my previous post.

Ok so I have my profile on my page but can’t push or pull it is there a way to do that?