How do I turn off the automatic file duplication, without losing the backup, on a MAC OS
File duplication? What are you referring to? The filename with a tilde?
Hi, I notice that SketchUp and LayOut create duplicates, there are two of the same file on my desk top. Yes, with a tilde.
That’s not really a duplicate file. The tilde is added for the autosaved backup version of the file on Mac. On the Windows the backup SketchUp file is .skb and the backup LayOut file is "back of filename.layout.
Thanks. Can I turn this feature off on a MAC? I am wanting to save memory.
You should be able to turn it off under Preferences>Backup which I think you’ll find in the LayOut menu to the left of File. Of course if you turn off the backup creation you won’t get any backups.
Understood - but I get auto save. And I save on memory without creating a backup
You won’t save memory. But, you will save disk space. Memory isn’t used except when the file is actually being saved. And the file you are referencing is the auto saved file. It doesn’t auto save over your original file so you can revert if you need to.
Good enough. FWIW, I periodically do a search for LayOut files that have ‘Backup of’ in the title and I delete them to free up disk space. I only do that about once every year, though.