Trimble Connect and Layout

Hi, I am new to Trimble Connect, and everything I read sounds very promising and would solve a lot of issues we have when multiple people working on the same sketchup model.

I am looking for a way to upload a Layout document the same way I did with the sketchup document, and would like to use it the same way, so multiple people can more easily work and comment on it.

I am not able to find anything about this online. Anyone able to point me to a direction how to upload layout files and us them in layout?

Thanks.
Inga

At this time there isn’t a direct interface between LayOut and Trimble Connect but you can create project folders and upload LayOut files into them.

One thing to consider, though, is correctly handling references in LayOut. Normally the references (SketchUp files, text, spreadsheets, images, etc.) would be on the local computer where the LayOut file is created. If you are going to share the LayOut file among different users, each user should make sure to unlink references so that LayOut doesn’t try to look for references that don’t exist. Also, if a user updates a reference file saved locally, they would need to relink to that file and then unlink the reference so LayOut goes back to looking only internally for the reference.

That is the problem we have right now. We work on it local, and upload Sketchup and Layout files to a cloud hard drive so the other person can download it and work local on it again.

I was hoping we can simply have both in Trimble connect and see all changes and the files are linked to each other.

But it sounds like it is not possible.

Trimble Connect is project software that can be used to share all kinds of different file formats. Some modelling software can upload 3D models directly or via an plugin or extension. SketchUp uses the Trimble Connect extension to collaborate directly in the model, LayOut doesn’t have such capability or extension.