Tips for Basic Roof and Slope drawings

Hello Professionals, basic Sketchup user here

I started using SketchUp for private use as we were remodeling our apartment. It was super and helped us alot!

I work in the roofing business, supplier of materials, and oftentimes our customers ask us for help with calcualiting and offering tapered roof systems (using sloped boards to create a slope on the roof).
Today I work in Adobe Acrobate PRO using their measure feature, and drawing my own lines to help keep track.

But yesterday I recreated the roof plan in SketchUp and used the correct slope degrees to make a model of the resulting tapered roof.
This however took a lot of time and was quite tedious.
But our customer the roofer was happy with the model and the building owner really liked these drawings.
We are a small independent company of two people, and do not have the need nor knowledge of getting the complicated systems such as AutoCAD for example, that our very much bigger competitors use.

But I have two questions that might make things easier for me in SketchUp.

1. Usually we receive the drawing in PDF format, where I input the corerct scale in Adobe PRO and start measuring.It takes a lot of time and the end result is not so nice.
    Is there a way to put this drawing in SketchUp and giving it correct scale from the beginning?
    So I could outline the roof and get correct dimensions directly.

2. Is there a way to create “personalized” grids?
    When calculating the number of “sloped boards” needed, i just put in the dimensions of the boards using the Tape Measure tool. So the baords are 600mm wide and 1200mm long. If the roof is 12x12 meters - i need to use the tape measure 20 times on the width and 10 times on the lenght.
    But could you create some kind of grid with box dimension of 0,6x1,2m that keeps it’s dimensions how ever long you drag it? So i could just lay the grid over the roof?