Suggested Improvements to learn SketchUp

Hi!,
I am new to this 3D Modeling and after going through horrible experience in SketchUp. I think it is worth my time to say a few things to the team that’s building it.

• I had no idea I could turn off (Centimeter) / this is something SketchUp should teach new users, how to turn on and off.
  • I had no idea if I can add plugins/extensions in SketchUp that can make my life easier.
  • I have wasted a lot of my time building walls using PushUp tool and drawing lines and lines. And there is an extension that does just that in seconds!~ WTF!
  • Add a Slide show that show the new features and extensions that can make life easier, at least those that are completely free.
  • Add some useful extensions and plugins by default, ask to install major/useful free extensions in the installation wizard to download by category and install with some short description for each.
  • FIX THESE MAJOR PROBLEMS.

these requests are no MAJOR problems but PICNIC issues and therefore shouldn’t make it in the application.

7 Likes

First of all this is off topic for this thread. Since sketch3d-de has already replied I’m replying too.

I can’t make any sense of this. Centimeter is a length unit. You can’t turn lengths off.

The SketchUp website front page clearly tells there are extensions. There are already a few shipped by default (dynamic components and sandbox tools). I don’t know what more you want. A popup message saying “hey, have you tried extensions yet??” on startup?

What sketch3d_de said.

2 Likes

It was fun for some time and difficult using SketchUp even after watch Lynda Tutorials but now i"m exploring other better options like - ARCHICAD, Revit and AutoCAD-Civil-3D.

ARCHICAD is better than SketchUp. I will explore / maybe I’m wrong but time will tell :slight_smile:

Please don’t call someone you don’t personally know “sweet heart”. Ever.