Straw Roofs and Walls

Hi,

I am fairly new to Sketchup, first disclaimer, totally new to 3D Design and just got my first 3D Printer.

I am looking at making war game terrain 3D printed.

I am looking at making South East Asian straw/rough thatch buildings, roofs and walls.

While designing the buildings has been successful adding the straw/thatch effect has not.

Here is a sample of what I would like to get:

The guy who did this did it in blender and told me he did it by:

" I searched for textures using google images. when I found a good one, I used the displace feature of blender to create the straw texture."

How do you experts suggest I do this in Sketchup?

Thanks

Ken

More-or-less the same technique, except the SketchUp way.

Search web for suitable image and do some image editing to optimize / clean it up as required.

Download and install Bitmap To Mesh - it seems to work on SU 8 to SU 2017.

Model the surface (-s) you would like and apply optimized image, you may (or may not, depending on your needs and the shape of the mesh) to correct the texture application. various ways to do this, SketchUpUV is one solution I can think of quickly.

Use Bitmap To Mesh.

Post here how it went, pictures required. ;p

1 Like

@Julian_Smith, Thanks for the push in the right direction.

I found and installed Bitmap to Mesh in the extension manager, it also said I needed a library as well so I installed it also.

Found a texture, drew a single wall section, imported the jpeg texture, applied it to the wall section, right clicked on the image and found “Mesh from Bitmap” which I choose and now waiting 30+ hours for it to complete apparently! :frowning:

Have I done this correctly? Suggested to complex a bitmap?

I really appreciate the help.

Ken

and at 0.3% and 11m 28s in it is now telling me I have over 60h to go!

You need to experiment with some less complex images.