Sketchup to CNC - Advice

Hi Guys,

I was hoping for a bit of advice or help…I have looked around forums and google but can’t quite find clear answers, however that might just be.

I will try to keep this simple, our business is looking to invest in a fairly standard CNC for wooden carvings. I’ve been using sketchup for a number of years and although I’m still no pro I feel I can use it for good enough for what we need for work.

What I use this for is to design parts for machines we have here or for new product prototypes, this are then printed using our 3D printer…now I feel I’ve got this down to a tee, I really don’t come across many problems with this and everything comes out the way I plan.

My MD has seen potential in me I guess and like I said wants to invest in a CNC machine for plastic and wooden carvings for our business.

With our 3D printer I know the limitations of size it will print so design my models around that, I can see these sizes on CNC machines but not with the height or how deep they will carve…am I missing something?

My main target here is to find a machine that I can use alongside sketchup, design whatever I want produce on sketchup (or another program if I have to), convert and then send to CNC to carve…I’m appreciate there will be more to it than this but that’s the jist.

I’m struggling to find the info on where the limitations for size are when looking for a machine when it comes to height.

I’d be grateful if someone here could just throw me some pointers of what the main things are I should be looking for with what we want it to do.

Thanks in advance