Sketchup ruby incompatible library error

Hello All,

I am very new to SketchUp development so it is probably my fault but I can not find the solution.

Please give me a hand if you can.

I have taken over a SketchUp plugin development. Te plugin works fine under the older versions of SketchUp but under SketchUp 2019 I have a strange issue.

For this latest version I use ruby 2.5.1.
It works fine under Windows and also under OSX, but only if I use the English version of SketchUp.

I haven’t tried with the Windows version yet but under OSX in case I try to load the plugin with the Spanish version of SketchUp, I get an incompatible library version error from the Ruby Console.

What can be wrong?

(The English and Spanish SketchUp both have the same version number)

Thank you in Advance!

Márton

what library is failing?

posting the error message in a code block would be helpful…

john

Hello John,

Thanks for your quick response.

Here is the console log:

Does it help?

Márton

It looks like SketchUp is failing to load something for …/Plugins/maxwell/init.rb == ../Plugins/maxwell/bin/osx/mx_r25.bundle
It might well be that the version of that was compiled for an earlier version, like v2018, and so it fails in v2019’s newer Ruby…
You need to seek advice from ‘maxwell’ direct ?
Their site says the current version v4’s compatibility is up to SketchUp v2018, for all OSs…
I suspect that you actually need v5 - whenever that’s due out ?

Hello TIG,

Yes, the mx_r25.bundle fails somehow, but this is what I would like to fix.
This was compiled by me and was compiled for SketchUp 2019. (With ruby base version 2.5.1)
And this very same version works fine under SketchUp 2019 English version, but sends this error message under the SketchUp 2019 Spanish version.

Márton

Hmm… strange. I cannot think of any reason why SU locale would make a Ruby C Extension library fail to load… because you only have one build of your binary, right?