SketchUp Pro 2018 - OSX 12.1 Monterey on a 2017 MacbookPro

Good day everyone.
I’ve been using SketchUp Pro 2018 since march 2017.
It’s been installed on a 2009 iMac and a 2012 MacBook Pro.

Both my old Macs were falling into pieces and I bought a used 2017 MacBook Pro with Touch Bar.
I read here and there that Monterey and SU 2018 had some issues but I started by not finding any proper installers for the 2018 version. It jumps from 2017 to 2019.

I was really hoping I could use the 2018 Licence I bought on the newer machine without having to upgrade to SU 2021.

I tried to simply copy the apps from my old machine to the new one. It seems to work aside of an “offline” problem that I found some tips on how to resolve. But I am aware that it is far from ideal.

I am a professional user but never really felt the need for more features than the 2018 version offers. I don’t do renders, lighting, it is really to structure my thinking and used to prepare my cutting list or CNC paths.

My questions :

• is there anyway I could find a 2018 installer? Would it work on this new machine running Monterey? it feels like it could but the info I found around was not conclusive, fully.
  • Do I have to upgrade to 2020 or 2021 SU version?

Thanks for your time reading me, hope you could bring something to my reflection.

Cheers,

Nico.

See this for a link to download 2018.

Keep in mind that SketchUp 2018 doesn’t support the newer operating system. That doesn’t mean it won’t work but it might have problems. Some users have reported issues with older SketchUp versions on newer Mac OS versions. Some users have had good luck.

Thanks Dave, the disk image provided by the link you gave is the app + Lay out + Style builder, no installer that would put things right in the libraries and so on. I’ll keep looking!

I may be forced to use my Old Macs for working on a stable version of SU :slight_smile: not exactly optimal. But as said, I’ll keep looking.