SketchUp in Building Information Modelling (BIM)

Does anyone use Sketchup for major scale modelling at a commercial scale with LOD models above 300/400. Possibly a facilities management model?.

Currently working on a big airport terminal upgrade where sketchup has been my primary viz tool after Revit for filtering out complexities that have really weighed down performance in Revit MEP (Im a BIM Manager)
We have ordered worksets , had federation model meetings, filtered views and purged constantly but the workflow in Revit is still slow compared to transporting a dwg format to Sketchup for ease of use. Which is why we enjoy it as a visual tool alongside Layout. Pic below from sketchup

I hope with Trimble now involved with Sketchups development that we are exposed to some tools that perhaps can be made separate from the main sketchup program (Possibly an extension paid package?) that will enable construction modelers to embed parametric data into a database such as Navisworks or Synchro. Making Sketchup a key contributor to federated models alongside the other major programs we use.

I understand there are already parametric modelling tools made by individual developers on sketchup. However I am more interested in where Sketchup is moving in terms of BIM tools.

5 Likes

The current version of SketchUp has built-in classification tools to tag objects with, for instance, IFC parameters. There is also IFC import and export. Perhaps not much to write home about, but it might be a start.

Anssi

2 Likes

A list of BIM stuff here. And check the Extension Warehouse. It seems to be getting more stuff.

1 Like

have you looked into Trimbleā€™s collaboration extension for SU?

it may have something usefulā€¦

john

@john_drivenupthewall - Yes I have had a look at the trimble connect, it is an excellent cloud collaboration tool. It has been a sharing platform for many Large Revit/CAD files we have.