SketchUp for Schools introduction lessons

Hello everyone,

My name is Karina and I am a teacher in Sweden. I have just started teaching my classes SketchUp for my Wood work lessons. They are loving it and it is going really well. I am a completely new learner so am trying to learn as I go.

I want to do an activity to get them used to using the navigation tools. I would like to do a sort of treasure hunt. So have items hidden inside and around buildings so they have to use all the navigation tools to locate everything. Does anyone already have something like this that I can use? If I try to make it myself it will take me ages and be rubbish!

Thank you for the help!
Ina

I would download a “small town” model from the 3D wharehouse and then add to it the treasure elements.

As a tip you could put all of the town on one layer and your treasure on another layer so at some point you could color by layer in x-ray mode to reveal where all the treasure is ?

2 Likes

Awesome thank you, I thought that was probably the best plan! Just need to figure out the layering myself first… To YouTube!! Thanks :grin:

Just one comment: When you do the layering, please do it right: create all edges and faces with Layer0 active. Gather the edges and faces of a treasure item into a group or component, and then assign your special layer just to the group or component. You can use the same layer for all your treasure or use multiple layers to split it up.

1 Like

Thanks for the tip! Can you recommend a good complete begginers instruction video for layering?

Link to SketchUp instruction doc

Basic layer use

1 Like

I would make your treasure item(s) and group each one. In the layers area make a new layer + and name it treasure. Select your treasure item(s) and assign them to the treasure layer.